Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)

PHONT Profile

PGRN Ontology Network Resource

Abstract (Updated as of March 2015)

The PGRN Ontology Network Resource (PHONT) aims to develop resources for representing pharmacogenomic data in comparable and consistent forms, thereby facilitating interoperability and supporting precision medicine. To accomplish this aim, we are pursuing projects within three related themes. 

  1. Providing standardized phenotype definitions. Standardized phenotypes, such as treatment response and clinical outcomes, are essential for uniformly identifying patient cohorts. PHONT is working with national initiatives to develop methods and tooling for creating and using standardized phenotype definitions across multiple EMR systems. 

  2. Providing standardized data element definitions and pharmacogenomically relevant value sets. Collecting research and clinical data in study-neutral formats enables secondary use of the data. Using data elements from PGRN studies, PHONT is developing tooling to facilitate their representation using standardized clinical element models. 

  3.  Providing standardized representations of pharmacogenomic knowledge. Computable representations of pharmacogenomic guidelines will encourage consistent implementation among institutions and help to minimize maintenance of clinical decision support rules. To facilitate this, PHONT is developing structured and coded representations of the published CPIC guidelines and working with standards development organizations to support pharmacogenomic use cases.

Team Members

Robert R. Freimuth, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator; Assistant Professor of Biomedical Informatics
Email: freimuth.robert@mayo.edu
Phone: (507) 284-0753  
Jyotishman Pathak, Ph.D.
Co-Investigator; Assistant Professor of Biomedical Informatics
Email: pathak.jyotishman@mayo.edu
Phone: (507) 538-8384
Christopher G. Chute, M.D., Dr.PH.
Co-Investigator;Professor of Biomedical Informatics
Email: chute@mayo.edu
Phone: (507) 284-5506

Richard (Rick) C. Kiefer, II 
IT Analyst/Programmer 
E-mail: Kiefer.Richard@mayo.edu 

Anne M. Bofferding 
Assoc. Project Manager – Research 
E-mail: Bofferding.Anne@mayo.edu 

Dale B. Suesse 
IT Analyst/Programmer 
E-mail: Suesse.Dale@mayo.edu 

Deepak K. Sharma, M.S. 
IT Senior Analyst/Programmer 
E-mail: Sharma.Deepak2@mayo.edu 

 

Former Team Members

Qian Zhu, Ph.D. Research Associate, Biomedical Informatics Email: zhu.qian@mayo.edu Phone: (507) 538-0187