Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)

NWAP Profile

Pharmacogenetics in Rural and Underserved Populations

Website

http://sop.washington.edu/pgrn

Principal Investigator

Kenneth E. Thummel, Ph.D. and Wylie Burke, M.D. Ph.D.

Host Institution

University of Washington

Grant Number

1U01GM092676-01 (MPI)

PGRN 2010 Retreat Poster

NWAP Poster

NWAP Publications

NWAP Publications

NWAP TOP Publications

NWAP Publications

Abstract (Updated, May 2014)

Our goal is to generate knowledge to support the evaluation of pharmacogenetic testing in the health care of Northwest American Indian/Alaska Native people (AI/AN). Our research will (1) identify potential barriers/facilitators to pharmacogenetic testing; (2)discover/characterize the prevalence of novel and known variants among AI/AN people in genes affecting warfarin, tamoxifen and tacrolimus therapies; (3) assess whether genetic testing predicts differences in warfarin, tamoxifen and tacrolimus response in AI/AN people; (4) assess the interaction between diet, genotype and blood coagulation in southwest AN communities; and (5) assess whether pharmacogenetics offers enhanced benefit in rural populations with reduced access to monitoring.

NWAP Team

University of Washington

Kenneth Thummel, Ph. D.
Principal Investigator
Email: thummel@uw.edu
Phone: (206) 543-0819

Wylie Burke,M.D., Ph.D.
Dual-Principal Investigator
Email: wburke@uw.edu
Phone: (206) 221-5482

Melissa Austin, Ph. D.
Co-Investigator
Email: maustin@uw.edu
Phone: (206) 543-0709

Rosalina James, Ph.D.
Co-Investigator
Email: rdjames@uw.edu
Phone: (206) 616-1453

Allan Rettie, Ph.D.
Co-Investigator
Email: rettie@uw.edu
Phone: (206) 685-0615

Christopher Blosser, M.D.
Co-Investigator
Email: chrisbl@u.washington.edu
Phone: (206) 685-3098

Kari Stephens, Ph.D.
IT Analyst
Email: kstephen@uw.edu
Phone: (206) 221-0349

David Veenstra, Ph.D.
Co-Investigator
Email: veenstra@uw.edu
Phone: (206) 221-6936

Laura-Mae Baldwin, M.D., M.P.H.
Co-Investigator,
E-mail: lmb@fammed.washington.edu
Phone: (206) 685-4799

Polly Olsen, B.A.
Co-Investigator
Email: polly@u.washington.edu
Phone: (206) 616-8731

Barbara Kavanaugh, M.P.H.
Program Manager
Email: bek@uw.edu
Phone: (206) 685-9915

 

University of Alaska - Fairbanks

Bert Boyer, Ph.D.
Subaward PI/Co-Investigator
Email: Bert.boyer@gmail.com
Phone: (907) 474-7733

Scarlett Hopkins, R.N.,M.A
Field Researcher
Email: Scarlett.hopkins@gmail.com
Phone: (907) 474-5693

Diane O'Brien, Ph. D.
Co-Investigator
Email: dmobrien@alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 474-5693

 
University of Montana

Erica Woodahl, Ph.D.
Subaward PI/Co-Investigator
Email: erica.woodahl@umontana.edu
Phone: (406) 243-4129

Mark Pershouse, Ph. D.
Co-Investigator
Email: Mark.pershouse@umontana.edu
Phone: (406) 243-4769

Patrick Beatty,M.D., Ph. D.
Collaborator
Email: PBeatty@Mtcancer.com
Phone: (406) 329-7534

Liz Putnam, Ph.D.
Co-Investigator
Email: Elizabeth.putnam@umontana.edu
Phone: (406) 243-4794

LeeAnna Muzquiz, M.D.
Co-Investigator
Email: Imuzquiz@thhs.cskt.org
Phone: (406) 676-8778

 
 
 
The Group Health Research Institute

Denise Boudreau, R. Ph., Ph.D.
Subaward PI/Co-Investigator
Email: boudreau@ghc.org
Phone: (206) 287-2067

Monica Fujii, M.P.H.
Research Project Manager
Email: fujii.m@ghc.org
Phone: (206) 287-2211

 
 
Southcentral Foundation Team

Denise Dillard, Ph.D.
Subaward PI/Co-Investigator
Email: dadillard@scf.cc
Phone: (907) 729-8518

Doug Eby, M.D.
Co-Investigator
Email: deby@scf.cc
Phone: (907) 729-4345

Renee Robinson, Pharm.D.
Co-Investigator
E-mail: rrobinson@scf.cc
Phone: (907) 729-5488